search archive
Explore the Texas Digital Archive Up

Texas Judiciary

Object Type: Folder
In Folder: Texas Government

Item type

Texas Supreme Court

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals records

Texas Courts of Civil Appeals were first established in 1891 by constitutional amendment (Article V, Section 6). This expansion of the appellate system was designed to reduce the backlog of cases on the Texas Supreme Court docket. At a special session called to implement this amendment in 1892, the 22nd Texas Legislature, 1st Called Session (through Senate Bill 18) divided the state into three supreme judicial districts. Over the next century the judicial system expanded to fourteen supreme judicial districts. Boundaries of geographic jurisdiction have been specified by statute. Justices are elected by the voters of their districts for a term of six years.

Powered by Preservica
Texas State Library and Archives Commission | 1201 Brazos St., Austin TX 78701 | 512-463-5455 | | P.O. Box 12927, Austin TX 78711-2927